Breaking Up with My Straight Best Friend

😥

Thought Catalog

The choice was hard. There is no doubt about it. As a matter of fact,
I tried to do everything I could to take the easy way out. In other
words, to never face the truth and sit quietly in pain for as long as
our friendship took us. That is to say, I was recently faced with the
prospect of telling by best friend that I am in love with him or, to
put it mildly, that I had “feelings for” him. The only problem is, he
is straight.

Now, my friend and I have known each other for close to seven years,
having attended high school together and then proceeding to the same
college. I came out to him the summer before college, feeling like I
was ready to embrace the feelings I had been suppressing for years.
Surprisingly, he took it in stride and didn’t let anything…

View original post 1,065 more words

Leave a Reply

